Critique on Hand Drawings

Home Forums Critique Critique on Hand Drawings

This topic contains 44 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Joshua 7 years ago.

• Subscribe Favorite

This website was recommended to me by someone to practise drawing hands. I've been trying to learn how to draw them, but without success.

I think my biggest problem is that I'm not used to drawing quickly. I'm relatively new at drawing (I started drawing at the beginning of the year). I've timed all the drawings I've ever done (simply for reference, I don't try to rush at all... well I didn't until I came to this site!), and I usually spend 30 minutes to an hour on each drawing.
    My other main problem is that I simply cannot drawing convincing hands, even with infinite time.
    So when I try and draw hands quickly, the results don't turn out well.

I have two general goals I'm working towards:
    1) To simply be able to draw hands convincingly i.e. so they don't look more like a piece of ginger than a human hand.
    2) To be able to draw more quickly in general

When I get better my goals might get more specific as I get better.

I'm going to try to use this site at least once a week to practise. I intend to update this topic with all my future drawings of hands and feet (if I decide to use this site to also draw animals and/or faces, for example, I will create a separate topic for those).

Of course, my goal here is to get feedback on how I can improve. I'm been uploading all my other drawings to Deviantart for the same reason, but unfortunately I rarely get any feedback on any of my drawings there.

So far I've done two sessions on this site. On the first day, I drew various hands at a minute each, and two other at five minutes each.
    For the second day I did a 30 minute class.
    The links to my drawings are below:

The first day: